Why Okorocha appointed new commissioners, SA’S



In another surprise move to beef up his executive council, Imo State governor, Owelle Rochas Okorocha, on Monday forwarded another list of Commissioner nominees to the State House of Assembly alongside others he names as appointees for other positions.

According to a release from Government House, Owerri, Emma Ojinere, Lasbery Okafor Anyanwu, Jerry Okolie, Josephine Udoji, Getrude Oduka, Emma Ibediro, Martins Ohiri, Ugochi Nnana Okoro, John Achilike, Blessing Nwamerenu, Emeka Benjamin, Ngozi Njoku, Iyke Njoku and Mark Uchendu were named as Commissioners designates while Walter Uzonwanne, MD Imo Housing Corporation, Donatus Ozoemena, Chairman LUAC, Chike Orjiako, SSA Assets and Liabilities, Sunny Chiadi, Mayor Okigwe, Iwunze Adviser, Project Monitoring and Urban Renewal, Evan Enwerem Jnr, SSA Special Duties, Ifeanyi Nwachukwu Adviser Health, Obinna Nshirim, Adviser Public Affairs and Enlightment, Chinedu Ibeh, Adviser SMES, Lizzy Ejiogu, Adviser Education, Ann Ndubuisi, SSA MDGs. According to the principal secretary to the governor, Dr Paschal Obi, the appointment takes immediate effect.

Trumpeta recalls that two weeks ago, Okorocha named about 13 persons as Commissioners to douse the tension that the governor is running his government without serving Commissioners.

The latest appointments, it was gathered was designed to win the confidence of the Rescue Mission followers in view of the opposition he is witnessing in the rank and file of Imo APC.

It was gathered that moments after the first list came out, there were complaints in several quarters that Okorocha is not looking the way of most of his die-hard followers and acolytes in the Rescue Mission. This newspaper in one of its review of the losers named many of the present day beneficiaries from the latest list.

In that particular edition, the likes of Obinna Nshirim, Udogu, and Oduka who have been named as losers in the cabinet build up have had their names included as appointees and Commissioners respectively.

Further revelation have if that the fresh appointments were made to satisfy the urge of Okorocha’s followers who have been with him since the APGA days till date. For instance, the appointment of Jerry Okolie, a former Commissioner in charge of LGA and one of the first apostles of the governor is in line with Okorocha’s plot to compensate and carry along those who have been moving with him during their APGA days till he joined APC. Apart from Okolie, another die hard follower of Okorocha in Dr John Achilike, a Phd holder from Ikeduru, GLO of Avuvu ward, Achilike started with Okorocha far back in 2010/11 and has kept faith with the Rescue Mission even as nothing came his way until the Commissioner nomination. In the same vein, former Deputy Speaker of the Imo State House of Assembly, Rt Hon Donatus Ozoemena, also falls into this category, alongside Dr Ifeanyi Nwachukwu.

Ozoemena belong to the old “APGA” Okorocha took to APC. Nwachukwu was among the first set of commissioners governor handed a portfolio in his first tenure. He has also maintained an office courtesy of the governor.

The need to satisfy certain political blocks and LGAs was also named as part of the reasons why Okorocha has come up with list of new appointees. Trumpeta learnt that the mixed reactions trailing the names forced Okorocha to make a rethink and consider fresh appointments. There were complaints that the first list favoured some areas and LGAs in the state than others. In response to this, the governor went in search of people to cover up and that could be the reason behind the appointment of Emeka Benjamin of Ohaji/ Egbema, Mark Uchendu of Ihitte/Uboma and Lasbery Okaforanyanwu of Oru East. In the first appointment, LGAs like Isiala Mbano was blessed with two nominees while some have no commissioners. The latest appointments are to fill in the gap.

Also, included as part of the reason for the new appointment is to bring into office seasoned politicians for strategic reasons. In view of the growing influence of some forces said to be working seriously against the interest of the governor ahead 2019, some political huggernuts who are familiar with the political terrain in state in the mould of Josephine Udoji,Oduka, Ibediro,Ugochi Nnana Okoro, Uchendu, Obinna Nshirim and Chidi Ibe. With the exit of Uche Onyeagocha from APC to APGA, his perennial political foe, Ugochi Nnana-Okoro has to be impowered by Okorocha to checkmate the former governorship aspirant in Owerri West LGA. Ibediro will hold forte against the likes of Okpaleke in Onuimo while Uchendu is to mark Uwajumogu influence. Nshirim will square up against Vitalis Ajumbe.






Political Aides

  1. Hon Walter Uzonwanne, MD Imo Housing Cooperation
  2. Hon Donatus Ozoemena, Chairman LUAC
  3. Hon Chike Ojiakor, SSA Asset and Liabilities
  4. Sunny Chiadi, Mayor, Okigwe
  5. Iwunze Simeon, Adviser, Project Monitoring and Urban Renewal.
  6. Evan Enwerem Jnr, SSA Special Duties
  7. Ifeanyi Nwachukwu, Adviser Health
  8. Obinna Nshirim, Adviser Public Affairs and Enlightenment
  9. Engr Chidi Ibe, Adviser, SMEs
  10. Dr Lizzy Ejiogu, Adviser Education
  11. Ann Ndubuisi, SSA MDGs






Appointment of Commissioners Nominees

  1. Chief Ojinere Emmanuel
  2. Hon Lasbery Okaforanyanwu
  3. Jerry Okolie
  4. Josephine Udorji
  5. Getrude Oduka
  6. Barr Ibediro Emmanuel
  7. Dr Martins Ohiri
  8. Barr Lady Ugochi Nnanna Okoro
  9. Dr John Achilike
  10. Blessing Nwamerenini
  11. Emeka Benjamin
  12. Mrs. Ngozi Njoku
  13. Hon Iyke Njoku
  14. Engr Mark Uchendu