6 Imo Assembly Members Go For Reps Ticket, As 18 Want 2nd “Missionary Journey”


•Speaker Ibeh, Chiji, Okwara Eye Third Term Agenda

By Onyekachi Eze

The die is cast for the 2023 general elections, which will herald the beginning of the 10th Assembly.

While aspirants jostle for one elective position or another, present members of the Imo State House of Assembly are not left out of the game.

The political tussle had commenced in earnest with five of the Lawmakers declaring interest in the House of Representatives seat.

They are Honorables; Paul Emeziem, Arthur Egwim, Ngozi Obiefule, Uju Onwudiwe, Uche Ogbuagu, and Michael Onyemaechi Njoku.

Emeziem was the immediate past impeached Speaker of the House, he represents Onuimo LGA. Currently, he want to unseat Hon Miriam Onuoha with his declaration of the Reps seat under the All Progressives Congress, APC. Okigwe North Reps covers Okigwe, Onuimo, and Isiala Mbano LGAs.

For Rt.Hon. Arthur Egwim, having gone for two tenures for Ideato North Assembly seat, he is eyeing the Green Chambers to represent Ideato North and South, under APC.

Rt. Hon Ngozi Obiefule is another member that has already purchased the nomination and expression of interest forms to represent Nwangele/Njaba/Nkwerre/Isu at the Federal Constituency. She is also a second timer at the State Legislature.

Although her moves are underground, Igolo Njaba who is in her second missionary journey at the House is aiming the House of Representatives for Nwangele/Njaba/Nkwerre/Isu.

Hon Uche Ogbuagu of Ikeduru State Constituency is on the pitch for Mbaike Reps seat (Ikeduru/Mbaitoli). He has also purchased the forms signaling his readiness in the race.

Among them is Hon Michael Onyemaechi Njoku, member for Ihitte/Uboma LGA. As at yesterday Wednesday, Njoku popularly known as Crown returned his own duly filled nomination form to the APC secretariat, Abuja to represent Obowo/Ehime Mbano /Ihitte Uboma Federal seat.

Aside these five, 18 are on a journey for second tenure, while the remaining 3 are begging for a third term in office.

The second term seekers are; Honorable Amara Iwuanyanwu (Nwangele, APC), Kanayo Onyemaechi (Owerri West, APC), Emeka Nduka (Ehime Mbano, APC), Chigozie Nwaneri (Oru East, APC), Eddy Obinna (Aboh Mbaise, APC), Anyadike Nwosu (Ezinihitte Mbaise, PDP), Frank Ugboma (Oguta, PDP), Philip Ejiogu (Owerri North, PDP), Solomon Anukam (Owerri Municipal, PDP), Samuel Otuibe (Ahiazu Mbaise, APC), Blyden Amajirionwu ( Ngor Okpala, APC), Dominic Ezerioha ( Oru West, APC), Johnson Iheonukara Duru (Ideato South, APC), Chidiebere Ogbunikpa (Okigwe, APC), Herclus Okoro (Ohaji/Egbema, APC), Okey Onyekanma (Mbaitoli, PDP), Ekene Nnodumele ( Orsu, APC), and Paschal Okolie (Orlu, PDP).

While some among the aforementioned 18 Lawmakers have openly purchased their forms, others may do so before end of today being the deadline.

Similarly, three Lawmakers who may still have more legislative input to make in the affairs of the state lawmaking body have joined the league.

The speaker, Rt Hon Kennedy Ibeh (Obowo, APC), Speaker Emeritus, Chiji Collins (Isiala Mbano, APC), and the sacked Lawmaker Obinna Okwara (Nkwerre, PDP) have shown interest for a third term bid. Just like their colleagues, they have all procured the necessary forms to enable them file out at the polls.