Crisis Rocks Imo Labour Party .As Two State Executives Emerge



The relative peace that pervaded the Labour Party, Imo State chapter, was on Tuesday shattered, as another State Executive of the party emerged with Chief Ikechukwu Cyril Akujobi as the State Chairman.

Before now there was a State Executive of the party led by Comrade John Onyenemere which paraded itself as the authentic State Executive of Imo Labour Party, inaugurated by the National Chairman, Comrade Mike Omotosho.

However, on Tuesday at the party’s State office on MCC Road, Owerri, another National Chairman in the person of Alhaji A A Salam inaugurated the Akujobi led Executive.

The latest development has sent confusion into Labour Party in Imo State, which many see as the only peaceful political party around, as PDP, APGA, and APC are all riddled with internal squabbles.

Inaugurating the Akujobi faction on Tuesday, Alhaji A A Salam, who was addressed as the National Chairman lauded Imo Labour Party followers, and enjoined the new Executive to carry everybody along, and assured that Labour Party, will sweep the stakes in Imo in 2019 election.

But in a swift reaction, the John Onyenemere faction said that what took place with Akujobi as State Chairman was a jest of the highest order, as he remains the Imo State Chairman of Labour Party.

Hon Calistus Okafor, who said he is the Deputy National Chairman, South of Labour Party, described Alhaji A A Salam as a former National Working Committee Chairman of the Party adding that “Comrade Salam is a man who neglects the rule of Law” stressing that he has been removed from office.

But Akujobi after his inauguration promised that the newly elected Executive will be at the stadium on May 29, 2019 for the swearing-in of the next Imo State Governor.

In Akujobi’s Executive include Simon Nwoegbe (Deputy Chairman) Lady Ugwuorji Chika (Deputy Chairman Female) Sir Fabian Nwaokochi (Sec)Echereodo Uchechukwu )(Publicity Sec) and others.

In John Onyenemere’s Executive include Pastor Ogbonna Ayozie (Deputy Chairman), Chief Phillip Uwazuruonye (Org.Sec), Opara Eze Prince (Publicity Sec) and others.